Reflection on how I think I have done in the second assignment

Reflection on how I think I have done in the second assignment

  • Demonstration of Technical and Visual Skills – materials, techniques, observational skills, visual awareness, design and compositional skills
    I am much more aware when composing photographs of the possibilities of placing points in different parts of the frame and also how I can use lines and curves to more effect.I am getting more confident in using my cameras in manual mode.
    Quality of Outcome – content, application of knowledge, presentation of work in a coherent manner, discernment, conceptualisation of thoughts, communication of ideas

    I feel I present my work in a coherent manner and am applying what I am learning to my photo taking. However, although I think I am progressing with conceptualisation of thoughts and communication of ideas, I do not feel I can communicate in any way at the level of  some of the authors I have been reading (such as David Campany in “Art and Photography” or some of the reviewers I have read on exhibitions).

  • Demonstration of Creativity – imagination, experimentation, invention, development of a personal voiceI have tried to be more creative (such as my experiments with the sabatier effect) and also in my photo taking. However, this has sometimes led to disasters but I have been less concerned about this as I am beginning to learn what works and what doesn’t.
  • Context – reflection, research, critical thinking (learning log)I have put a lot of work into extending my knowledge of  photography and photographers by extensive reading and visits to exhibitions which I have logged in my blog.I  still feel I have to put many more hours into my work than was suggested in the course notes. This is not a problem but has been quite a shock.
Leave a Reply

