Reflection on Assessment Criteria for Part one

Reflection on how I think I have done in the first assignment

  • Demonstration of Technical and Visual Skills – materials, techniques, observational skills, visual awareness, design and compositional skillsI found the exercise on panning difficult at first as I was not using slow enough shutter speeds but had a second go at the exercise and did better, particularly when I chose the soft option of “cars”. However, I did have a go at a harder option of a “skateboarder” with some success. The “sequence of composition” was also difficult as I had few opportunities and with the opportunity that I did have I needed to be very discrete in taking the photos. 
  • Quality of Outcome – content, application of knowledge, presentation of work in a coherent manner, discernment, conceptualisation of thoughts, communication of ideasI think I have been reasonably strong on this criteria, especially when I mastered using WordPress. I have found that I have been applying what I am learning on the course to my projects and my professional work. I am certainly more aware of balance and the various options in balancing an image which previously focused mainly on symmetry.
  • Demonstration of Creativity – imagination, experimentation, invention, development of a personal voiceI was slow on this to start with, especially as the weather was quite extreme and I didn’t have much opportunity to get outside and take photos. However, there have been some better days and I have been able to develop myself on this criteria, especially being able to take more imaginative photos outside for the “contrasts’ for Assignment One. This was better, or certainly more enjoyable, than having to create photos indoors. 
  • Context – reflection, research, critical thinking (learning log)I think I have coped quite well with this.I took a little while to get the correct format for the learning log using WordPress but think I have now achieved this. I found it difficult at first reflecting on some of the exercises and even more difficult writing them up but I am beginning to make progress with this. I have read an enormous amount in this period: the reading list has been very helpful and I have been very motivated by the course. Much I have read has not applied to Part One but I am sure it will hold me in good stead as I move through the course and I will be able to make relevant references when those aspects are dealt with. I have particularly enjoyed reading about the history of photography and the analysis of photographs.
    I have found that I have had to spend much more than the 80 hours suggested for this part of the course but I have not regretted this and I presume I will become more efficient as I progress.
Leave a Reply

