Exercise – Cropping (page 64)

I did this exercise both using L frames and or strips of card and also in Lightroom. I did feel that I had a totally different experience using the L frames but when dealing with lots of photos the cropping tool in Lightroom is very efficient.

Using L frames

I have cropped a little tighter and straightened the image. I like the balance created by the lines.

Image

Digital before crop

Image

Digital after crop

I have concentrated on the upward lines here. However, I still prefer my original framing when I took the photo..

Image

Using L frames

I cropped much tighter with the L frames and created the balance with the boat and the buildings behind the boat leading the eye to the building rear right.

Image

Digital before crop

Image

Digital after crop

I have cropped here very much as I did in the crop I achieved with the L frame. However, I still prefer the framing I achieved when I took the photo: I was concentrating on getting the silhouettes of the bridge I was photographing from as well as the balance of the boat (rule of thirds) and they way the buildings behind the boat lead you to the building at the back on the right.

Image

Using strips

I just concentrated on balance and the focus of the main street and the tower.

Image

Digital before crop

Image

Digital after crop

I have re-created my crop done with L frames. However, on reflection I prefer my original framing with a wider vista , although I would probably want to straighten the lines of the buildings in Photoshop.

Image


Using L frames

When using L frames I found that I preferred to focus on the shapes of the spheres and the curve and have one lone person in the frame.

Image

Digital before crop

Image

Digital after crop

I re-created this after using the L frames for the reasons I have given above.

Image
Using L frames

I have tried to crop tighter and to avoid vehicles.

Image

Digital before crop

Image

Digital after crop

I felt when doing this digitally that the balance was better if I included the building in the foreground.

Image

Leave a Reply

