Balance in composition

2 photographs have caught my eye today – both from “The Times”. The first, a portrait of Sir Mervyn King, seemed relevant to what I had been reading about balance from my course notes. I don’t have my notes to hand but I remember some reference to small and big. I think Sir Mervyn’s glasses (small) are very well balanced by the circles (big) which are out of focus. I think offsetting his face is very successful in this image.

20130214-181806.jpg

The second image was a bit twee but the colours of the umbrella ( a colour wheel in itself) stand out so well against the mainly black and white of the snow scene. If I had been taking this photo I might have tried to get the umbrella to conform to the rule of thirds but on reflection a rule worth breaking as there are lots of other elements of symmetry that help the picture – the bridge for instance.

20130214-182345.jpg

Leave a Reply

